Lasting Change

January 27, 2007 0xanna

I can definitely agree that setting a goal and not only that, but sticking with it, is sometimes really hard to do. The article presents the problem; people are afraid of failure. I find myself thinking about good new years resolutions to strive to complete. Most of the resolutions that cross my mind I dismiss right away because I feel that it’s not even worth it. I feel there is no point in trying when in the back of my mind I say “there’s no way I can do it.” I find myself even questioning the smallest and simplest things. I look at the positives and negatives, but mostly the negatives. An example is the idea of making my bed every morning. I know that I’ll just have to make it again. What’s the point?

The article discusses why people have such trouble setting goals. It gives out six steps in helping people reach their goal. The first is that people should imagine their future and what they want in life. The second is that people should get excited about their goals, but to be aware of the pros and cons and to write them down. Another is the idea that people should look past their fears and figure out why they are affecting these goals. The fourth step is for people to look in themselves and to truly accecpt themeselves for who they are. The fifth is to connect with those feelings from step four and the last is to take those feelings and look toward the future. They truly believe that by following those steps people can accomplish any one of their goals.

I thought that the article was very imformative. It made it sound a little easier than what it really is, but overall it was very interesting and I look forward to trying it out.

Link to article

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. colepr  |  January 27, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Hey,
    great article, i definately find myself in the same position of not keeping my goals in mind. I guess i’ll have to try and work harder on that! great article!

  • 2. caraeln  |  January 28, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    I can really relate to setting goals and not sticking with them haha. I don’t know how many times i’ve set a new years resolution and never finished it out. I liked the 6 steps it gave and maybe i’ll even try it out next time! I really like your layout too.

  • 3. hillbadill  |  January 29, 2007 at 12:20 am

    First of all I totally agree with you about making your bed! I never see the point of doing it eaither because I’m just going to be getting back into it! Anyway this article was very interesting and I might even use some of the steps! I always find myself saying I am going to try and work out more and now I realize I need to buckle down and forget being lazy and do it! cute layout by the way!

  • 4. Lisa Rozema  |  January 29, 2007 at 1:35 am

    Great start, Brittany.
    Have you taken the psychology class? There are so many interesting issues to explore in this field. I’m glad to see you linking to Psychology Today.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2007
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
