Winter Blues: Let’s Talk

February 25, 2007 0xanna

This article really gets to the core of the seasonal affective disorder (SAD). It discusses what it’s all about and affective ways to get over it. SAD is associated with being depressed during the winter season. Sleepiness, social withdrawl, and cravings for sugary or starchy foods are general symptoms that occur when someone is going through SAD. It also affects more women than men and also college student who have moved from a southern region to a northern region.

A common treatment that is being used more often is light therapy. It is a type of therapy where someone sits in front of a light box for about a half an hour a day. Another way of getting rid of SAD are normal 90 minute a day therapy sessions. These sessions discuss the negative and turn them into positive. A second step to this therapy is just having the patient do something fun. The article listed photography and woodworking. These studies are both very affective and proven otherwise.

I don’t know about others, but I myself feel somewhat depressed during the winter. I have never gone to the extreme like SAD, but I feel low sometimes. I find myself always sitting in front of the television or computer all the time. It probably really affects me because I lived in Florida for so long and I’m still getting used to the weather here. Back to the article though, I can see howthe treatment when people do fun activities can really help. I love playing guitar. When I’m playing, I feel in control and at peace. I think I will continue to do so, at least more often. But seriously…I am so ready for spring.

Link to Article

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. colepr  |  February 25, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Very interesting article. I know a person who has SAD, and he sits every morning in front of a light for like a hour to a half hour. I don’t think i’ve ever had anything like that, but i do have to admit i’m ready for the snow to be gone!

  • 2. caraeln  |  February 26, 2007 at 12:02 am

    SAD would be something really difficult to deal with. I’m glad to hear though that there are therapies available to those who struggle with it!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Most Recent Posts

 
